Gem of the Normand architecture, situated in the heart of the conservation area, the Bayeux Cathedral was consecrated on 14th July 1077, by Bishop Odo of Conteville, in the presence of his illustrious brother, William the Conqueror, duke of Normandy and king of England. It is believed that Odo commissioned the Bayeux Tapestry. The masterpiece from the Middle Ages was probably intended to be hung in the cathedral nave. Around the cathedral, the historic centre, untouched during the events of 1944, offers a rich heritage comprising timber-framed houses, manors and townhouses.
Privileged access to the Treasure room and the Chapter House
during tours organised by Bayeux Intercom Tourist Office.
Available at the Tourist Office
« Notre Dame Cathedral, Bayeux »Author : François NEVEUX with the collaboration of Claire RUELLE
Editor : OREP Editions
Construction of Bayeux Cathedral began in the Roman period, under Bishop Hugues, to continue under William the Conqueror's brother, Bishop Odo (11th Century). Following serious fire damage during the 12th Century, the cathedral was rebuilt in Gothic style in the 13th Century. Construction of the central tower began in the 15th Century, under Bishop Louis d'Harcourt, to be completed only in the 19th Century following major work by Eugène Flachat. The aim of this book is to provide a short history and guided exterior and interior tour of the monument. It helps visitors and readers to discover of one of France's finest cathedrals and an indisputable masterpiece of Norman Gothic art.Price : 5,70 €