Home / Destination

BAYEUX – BESSIN – D-DAY BEACHES

 

This little corner of Calvados was liberated in the few hours that followed the allied landings – the largest military operation of all times – on 6th June 1944. The area suffered little damage from the fights that occurred during the Battle of Normandy. Today it is a popular weekend and holiday destination that perfectly combines culture, heritage, dynamism and modernity. Follow the guide!

 

The small medieval town of Bayeux, capital of Bessin, stands proudly, inland from the D-Day Beaches. There is no need to introduce the famous Bayeux Tapestry, medieval masterpiece, embroidered in honour of William the Conqueror and now registered by UNESCO.

 

But have you had the pleasure of strolling through the cobbled streets of the Episcopal city? Have you seen the half-timbered houses, mansions, welcoming shops and workshops? From the heart of the city’s conservation area, the towers of Notre-Dame Cathedral – consecrated in 1077 in the presence of the duke-king – proudly overlook the surrounding countryside and coastline.

 

The neighbouring countryside is typical of Normandy; it consists of woodland, fields and hedgerows, and is one of the leading areas for dairy products. Fortified farmhouses, manors, chateaus and abbeys are ubiquitous and appear gracefully before the inquisitive rambler.

 

The coastline, alternating long beaches (ideal for water sports) and high cliffs, is laden with the Landings’ history: from the artificial harbour to the petroleum harbour and the German battery of Longues-sur-Mer.

 

The fishing village of Port-en-Bessin has retained its authenticity and charm, and is popular for its lively ambiance.

Perched on a cliff, the Vauban tower watches over the fishing boats, as they go out to sea and return, their holds loaded with fish and scallop.

On the opposite cliff, lies the 36 hole golf course, offering breathtaking scenery.


Heritage, hiking, tourist tax…

Check out tourism pages on the Intercom website

www.bayeux-intercom.fr

Accommodation, restaurants, visits, leisure, services…

Visit the “Bayeux-Bessin-D-Day Beaches” website

www.bessin-normandie.com

Site map

BAYEUX – BESSIN – PLAGES DU DÉBARQUEMENT

 

Libéré dans les toutes premières heures qui suivirent le Débarquement allié du 6 juin 1944 – la plus gigantesque opération militaire de tous les temps – ce petit coin du Calvados a peu souffert des combats libérateurs de la bataille de Normandie. C’est aujourd’hui une destination de week-end et de vacances très prisée qui conjugue à la perfection héritage du passé, dynamisme et modernité. Suivez le guide !

 

Ainsi, la petite ville de Bayeux, capitale du Bessin, demeure fièrement la cité médiévale aux portes des Plages du Débarquement. On ne présente plus la célèbre Tapisserie, chef d’œuvre du moyen âge brodé à la gloire de Guillaume-le-Conquérant et désormais classé par l’UNESCO.

 

Mais connaissez-vous le plaisir de flâner dans les petites rues pavées de la cité épiscopale, bordées de maisons à pans de bois, d’hôtels particuliers, de boutiques et d’ateliers accueillants. Fièrement dressées au cœur du secteur sauvegardé, les tours de la cathédrale Notre-Dame, dédicacée en 1077 en présence du duc-roi, veillent majestueusement sur la campagne environnante et sur le littoral tout proche.

 

La campagne ici est une vraie campagne normande, constituée d’un bocage clairsemé qui lui vaut d’être un des premiers crus laitiers de France. Fermes fortifiées, manoirs, châteaux et abbayes y sont partout présents et se révèlent avec grâce aux promeneurs curieux.

Le littoral, alternance de longues plages propices aux loisirs nautiques et de hautes falaises restées sauvages, est ici marqué par l’histoire, du port artificiel d’Arromanches dont les vestiges sont toujours visibles depuis la côte, au port pétrolier du Débarquement, en passant par la batterie allemande de Longues-sur-Mer.

 

On vient à Port-en-Bessin, le port des évêques au charme authentique, pour son ambiance et son animation. Ici, on est pêcheur et fier de l’être.

Du haut de sa falaise, la tour Vauban veille sur le va-et-vient des bateaux qui prennent la mer ou qui en reviennent les cales chargées de poissons ou de coquilles Saint-Jacques.

Sur la falaise d’en face, comme un clin d’œil à la nouvelle vocation du port de pêche, s’étend le parcours du golf 36 trous.


Patrimoine, randonnées, taxe de séjour…

Consultez les pages tourisme du site de la Communauté de Communes

www.bayeux-intercom.fr

Plan du site